The IGCSE programme is designed for almost the whole ability range. It is assessed on a nine-point scale of grades:-A* A B C D E F G U
In some subjects, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers, allowing teachers and students to decide on the most appropriate level of instruction and testing for the candidate.
The Core curriculum in each subject is within the ability range of the large majority of students. It provides a full overview of the subject and is targeted at students expected to achieve between grades C – G.
The Extended curriculum comprises the Core curriculum plus additional material. This has been designed for more academically able student, who is expected to achieve between grades A* – C
In PISES Students need to enter the extended curriculum in all subjects – you can enter ‘Extended’ in the subjects you are good at!
Grades A* – C are regarded as ‘pass’ grades, and you will need minimum 6 of these to progress to an A level course in grade 12.
IGCSE Subject Choices

At PISES, students normally study between 5 and 7 IGCSE subjects and three O level subjects. The following two IGCSE subjects are compulsory for all students. These are:-

  • English Language
  • Mathematics

In addition, students can choose to take three or four additional subjects, chosen from:

  • Business Studies
  • Accounting
  • ICT
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology

These 6 subjects are offered in ‘Subject Groups’ to students at the end of grade 7. Their preferences are taken into account when compiling the ‘groups’, and individual counselling is available in order to guide the students to making the optimum choices for them.